Visit to Nay Aug Park

This weekend I took a trip to Nay Aug Park in Scranton to take photographs for my Color Photography II class. This photo shoot is a continuation of what I am currently doing in that class, which is landscape photography. Last weekend when I started this project I didn’t really know what to focus on while taking landscape photographs. I decided I wanted to find things that stood out from the landscape, but that’s easier said than done.

When I went to the park this weekend, I looked for things that stood out from everything else, but it was hard to do so. Landscapes all have a lot of similar objects that look the same. They all have the same trees, the same colors, and the same flowers. So I tried to look for these objects, but that were a completely different color from the majority of the group. This weekend this was a little harder to do because the leaves aren’t completely changing yet so everything is still green.

Luckily, Nay Aug park has a waterfall and it was a sunny day so I was able to find items that stood out, but not so much that it took away from the whole photograph. I took photographs of the things that were around the waterfall and some of the actual waterfall. To me, this was a perfect day to take photographs because there weren’t any clouds in the sky so there was a constant stream of sunlight. This sunlight helped me get some really interesting shadows and spots of lights while I was taking photographs of the waterfall. The sunlight didn’t just help me with the waterfall, but it also helped me with the other photographs that I took that day.

Now being the second week into this project, I have come to realize that landscape photography can actually be hard. What you see with your eyes is hard to capture on your camera. But I will continue to improve on my landscape photography because it’s what I love to do.

Leave a Reply

