Student Spotlight: Alexandra Covaleski

Welcome back! This week we have graphic design major, Alexandra Covaleski. Alex takes her inspiration from cartoons and video games to create her artwork. And not only is she a talented artist, but also an exceptional cook! Last semester, I always looked forward to seeing what tasty treat she brought into our graphics class.

Meet Alexandraalex 

Name: Alexandra Covaleski, Class of 2020

Major: Graphic Design

I am majoring in Art because after deciding that I didn’t want to go into the Culinary Arts yet, I started to appreciate the art of animation and video games a lot more and decided to peruse that field instead.

The kinds of things that inspire me are cartoon shows like Over the Garden Wall, Gravity Falls, Steven Universe, and Start Versus the Forces of Evil (among many others) and The Legend of Zelda video games.

My favorite class so far was my Computer Graphics I class. I loved it because of the amount of projects we did and how the projects were all different. They really brought out my strengths and showed my weaknesses.

When I’m not in class you could probably find me at work or playing video games (whether they are on actual consoles or a 3DS is dependent upon where I am).

The coolest thing I’ve done so far was buying my very own set of Harry Potter robes from Universal Studios (Slytherin, of course). It was by far the best decision of my life as of now.

When I graduate I either want to go straight into a Master’s program or save up enough money to go to Culinary School and pursue that career choice as well.

I’d recommend the Art program at Marywood because with the class sizes being as small as they are you really feel as though the teachers are trying to improve your skills as an artist. They make you feel like you belong there.

Some of Alex’s Work:

 

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and work with us, Alex!

Until next time!

~Jordan

Leave a Reply

