Alumni Update with Jonathan

Deciding where to go to college and what major to pursue is a lot of pressure for high schoolers. Will this major be the right field for me in the future? Will I be able to get a job after graduation? Many questions arise through out the college experience and Jonathan Cimini is here to give us his success story, and inside scoop from after graduating Marywood University with an undergraduate degree in graphic design.

JONATHAN CIMINI

Graduation Year/Major: 2008 B.F.A. Graphic DesignPortrait of Jonathan

Marywood Clubs/Organizations: AIGA

Current Occupation: Art Director at CSS Industries (Paper Magic Group) Seasonal Product – Christmas Stationary/Greeting Cards/Tags

1) What was your favorite part about Marywood? My favorite part of attending Marywood would have to be the people I have met along the way in my studies, specifically in the Art Department Faculty. Attending Marywood University after graduating high school was a bit intimidating as I was honestly unaware of what major I wanted to pursue; specifically in the broad studies of the Arts Major. Originally, I wanted to steer towards art education. However, at the last moment I had switched majors to Graphic Design. The faculty in the Art Department at Marywood University supplied me the tools and information I needed to help guide me in the direction of my education which resulted in the career I have now.

2) Any advice for current art students at Marywood? The best advice I can give to current students is to really immerse yourself within the research towards the steps to graduating in your field. One example is to find a great internship with a business that not only fascinates you, but one you can see yourself in as a career further down the road. I believe this prepares you for your experience in the “Working world.” I have learned so much thus far working in my current role as an Art Director. However, having the tools and information prior to graduating really helped me prepare for any opportunities that would arise. It is a competitive field out there – and one must be prepared to work hard and obtain the knowledge to lead you in your own direction!

3) How did your art education at Marywood help your career?  It is interesting looking back on my studies almost 10 plus years ago at Marywood University. The wide area of “Graphic Design” is an ever-changing industry, I believe. One must constantly be prepared for when not only having a career in the field, but also contend with new and evolving tools to help further your self in your design works and abilities. I feel as if my education at Marywood paved the way for my preparedness not only then, but also now on a daily basis.

4) What is your favorite part about your job? My favorite part of my job is being able to present the product that I help create to various clients. Being able to Art Direct various designs to apply to seasonal product is a joy to me. I am able to have the ability to research and trend forecast what is out in the marketplace and how these new trends can be applied to the product. There are SO many new and exciting ideas that are out that can be applied to what I am helping create. For example, our Christmas Card lines I help Art Direct becomes a project that I need to organize, create, and establish new innovating designs and processes to. It’s honestly a fun job with a great group of people that I enjoy doing each day…and, let’s be honest…who wouldn’t love to work where Christmas is Everyday!?

5) What are some of your greatest accomplishments in the design world?  Some of my greatest accomplishments I have had in my career as a designer is being able to walk into a retail store and seeing your product you helped create and come to fruition right in front of your eyes. It is somewhat of a gratifying feeling that after all the hard work all year round that in just one season, consumers are purchasing the product to spread their Christmas Cheer. To this day I always send my friends and family a lot of the cards that I helped Art Direct. The path that I had chose after graduating is one that I know will guide me to future endeavors within the design field. I think I am fortunate enough to be able to work in such a competitive field at a job that I enjoy each and every day with such a great team of people by my side.

All images courtesy of Jonathan Cimini

ARE YOU INTERESTED IN STUDYING GRAPHIC DESIGN?

UNDERGRADUATE: Marywood’s graphic design program incorporates the study of design and type, conceptual development, design history, research, studio technique, and strategies for problem-solving. Class critiques and discussions are emphasized. Students will explore web design, interactive design, publication design, package design, corporate identity, typography and self promotion. During the junior and senior years, students will apply their knowledge and skills through internships and real design projects. The goal is to provide each student with the environment and support in which to develop a professional visual portfolio. LEARN MORE

GRADUATE: Our “Get Your Master’s with the Masters” MFA Program in Design and Illustration offers a rare opportunity to receive personal, hands-on training from leaders in the design and illustration fields. Working with designers, illustrators, and other art professionals is the easiest and most effective way to learn how to produce career-advancing work and obtain your MFA degree. LEARN MORE

Save

Leave a Reply

