The Semester, It Is Finally Over!

The semester, it is finally over. I feel as if weight has been lifted off my shoulders. This past semester was probably one of my busiest semesters I have had in a very long time. I am very happy that it is over because now I will have my time to recuperate. I am very sad as well because I had some really great courses this semester and I hate to say goodbye to them!

My favorite class of the semester was definitely Painting II instructed by Steven Alexander. I really enjoyed how the course was laid back and I felt as if the time spent in class was not really a class, I felt I was home working. At first, I was not sure how I was going to feel about the course because I was not really into painting as much as other mediums. However, that changed. I truly fell in love with painting. It is something that makes me very happy and at peace. I simply get lost in what I am painting and I love every moment of it! I noticed this especially when we transitioned into abstract painting. At first, I was very excited because I always wanted to experiment with abstraction but once I was face to face with my blank canvas, I thought to myself what am I going to do!!! I started by adding color to the canvas just to see where it would take me. My first few paintings really did not please me, I knew I could do more or something different at least. I knew I had something in me to create some sort of abstract piece that would push the boundaries I was originally working in. Within the last few weeks or so, I definitely reached that satisfaction. I really pushed myself, I tried a few different approaches and mediums as well in my paintings. Overall, I was beyond thankful for the course. I walked away with pieces that I absolutely adore and could not be any happier!

Ceramics I with Eva Polizzi was another favorite of mine! I would say the motto of that class this semester was “quality not quantity”. I really took this to heart because my goal of the semester was to create quality pieces that I would be very happy with and to enhance my skills. For a majority of the semester, I worked with hand building techniques such as coils, slabs, and pinching. I enjoy the slow and thought-out process each technique requires. Overall, I was very satisfied with this class and very satisfied with myself because I made some really fabulous pieces that I am very proud of! I also had the opportunity to bring my pieces from basic ceramics that never got the chance to be fired or glazed fired. I took advantage of those pieces especially when it came to glazing. I experimented with different glazes, I tried some I never used before and mixed a few glazes to see what would happen because that was something I never tried before!

Another favorite of mine was Children’s Literature with Cheryl Kashuba. I was very fortunate because over the past summer, I got to work with her during Marywood’s Creative Writing Camp even though I did not know she was going to be my professor for the upcoming semester! Overall, her class was fabulous, I enjoyed the books she assigned and I especially enjoyed the books she read aloud to the class. It was definitely a nice change compared to how a college course is usually set up. The books also really inspired me for possible projects I can do in my future classroom. I loved every moment of the class!

Overall, I enjoyed and appreciated every course I had this semester. I learned a great deal and improved quite a bit. Each and every semester I am definitely discovering more about myself as an artist, educator, and person in general and that is what makes me happy and feel successful!

One thought on “The Semester, It Is Finally Over!

Leave a Reply

