A Light Photo Restoration

This week rather than talk about my photography I’m going to briefly address a small project I am working on. For some context, I work as a gallery attendant/ security guard part-time at the Everhart Museum in Nay Aug Park here in Scranton. Not particularly long ago one of my supervisors asked if I could bring in my camera and a tripod to photograph an old print that was too fragile to scan for use in the museum’s Christmas card. In addition I offered to do some basic dust/ spot removal and he also later asked if I could convert the photo to a more true black and white rather than the faded, almost sepia, tone of the original print.

_dsc0348uThe original print itself wasn’t really the problem in terms of using a scanner, the actual issue was that the photo was secured, along with many others taken from the late 1920s through the early 1930s, into a scrapbook which is fairly weathered. Considering the state of some of the others in that same book, this print was actually in excellent condition, but photographing the print rather than scanning it was still necessary to preserve the book itself. As far as blemishes go there actually were quite a load of small dust spots, scratches, and stains on the photograph that may be hard to discern in the attached example, however very little of the imperfections were entirely severe. In fact one of the only real problem areas is among the last things necessary in terms of retouching: a strange splattering on and above the tree in the top right corner that I haven’t entirely resolved yet. _dsc0348This above image is my current furthest progression in retouching, before I’d submit a final version it would probably be best if I remove any remaining spots and settle on a decent value palette for the full black and white version, as well as the possible introduction of a slight edge burn to more strongly define the corners. Fortunately, most issues are a matter of time and not complexity. _dsc0348-bw

Save

Leave a Reply

