Learning More About Graphic Design

I’ve been back at school for a little over a week now, and I can honestly say that I’m really looking forward to this upcoming semester. Out of six classes, four of them are art classes, and they all seem like they’re going to challenge me a bit, but in a good way.

I’m mostly looking forward to my History of Graphic Design course. I’ve taken two art history classes before, and they were both really helpful in learning how different art styles and movements have developed. With this new art history course, I’m excited to see how Graphic Design has been used throughout history, and how it’s involved in, and helped transform visual communication.

I also think that it’s really important to see how the field started. Seeing how something began, and how it’s changed over time is really important when it comes to understanding it as a whole. We can appreciate how the graphic design field is now, with all of our new technology, but we still need to be aware of how it started and the techniques they used that we might not anymore. Especially because many of the tools we use on digital programs like Photoshop and Illustrator were developed to mimic actions that people did with physical materials.

This semester is going to be a challenging one, but I’m excited to learn a lot more about my field, and broaden my skills, and I’ll definitely keep you guys updated along the way.

Leave a Reply

