Meet the Artist

Today I would like to introduce you all to my little sister, Aariyah! She’s an amazing artist and I think it’s only fair that I share some of her work with you.

Aariyah is currently a sophomore at Savannah College of Art and Design. Her major is 3D animation with a minor in visual effects. I asked Aariyah a few questions, here are her responses:

Why did you decided to pursue art as a career? 

I chose to pursue 3D animation because as a child I was always fascinated by cartoons and movies and the way the characters moved through space. Disney animation was a huge influence in my younger years as well as DreamWork’s animation. As I grew older, I came to appreciate the special effects in movies and how they’re able to blend live action characters and animated characters together on one screen. A perfect example would be the Transformers franchise.

How long have you been drawing? Do you have a favorite medium?

I’ve been drawing since I started writing! So around the age of 3 or 4, but I got serious about my art maybe at 13 years old. I don’t really have a favorite medium. Before I started attending SCAD I mostly worked in graphite and charcoal. Going to art school forced me to try different mediums such as pastel, acrylic, gauche, or inks just to name a few. I do enjoy working with the different mediums but if I had to choose a favorite it’d be gauche.

What do you plan to do with your talent? 

I would like to take my skills as far as I can. I’m not sure if I want to stick with animated films or video games as yet but when I take more classes I’ll find what part of animation fits me best. My ultimate goal is to bring my craft back home and share it with the youth. I just want to be a source of encouragement. I know that often times people can be brutal when it comes to art and that can be discouraging. I also know that everyone is not blessed to have such a strong support system like I do through my mother and other family members. And so I’d like to be there for any young artist that I meet in the future.

Aariyah has made it clear that she has some work to do to perfect her craft and grow as an artist. However, looking at her work you’ll agree, the girl’s got talent! And I promise I’m not just saying that because she’s my little sister 🙂 … Take a look!

Save

One thought on “Meet the Artist

Leave a Reply

