Oil Painting

Recently I have been using oil paints and I feel more comfortable using them now more than ever. Along with painting with oils, I am constantly studying paintings online or in books. When I eat lunch at work, I spend time on my phone looking at art news or paintings. Every bit of exposure to how other people use the medium can make a difference. With this painting I worked from a photograph which I don’t do often. I worked on it for about 3 hours total. I only have a picture of the final piece. I was happy with how it turned out because it was actually very relaxing painting this. I am able to confidently paint without worrying about how to use the paint or make a certain color/shape.

image

This was also painted for a friend of her daughter and her hippo.

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

