Figure Drawing Update

A couple weeks ago I wrote about a project I started in my Figure Drawing II class. Since then I’ve made a lot of changes to the canvas and it looks a lot different. I had a lot of fun with this project a long the way. I struggled in the beginning since we were drawing from 15 minute poses, but by the end of the day it got easier and I began to adjust. I decided that the easiest way to complete this project was to use the whole 15 minutes to draw the figure in pencil first and then fill it in with color later. Some people in my class took a simpler approach, but I wanted my figures to have as much detail as I could get. I used mainly watercolor and collage for this piece which really allowed me to mix colors and different textures. Color enlivened this whole project for me and really made it fun and allowed me to explore. When I was close to done, I had a lot of white space so I ended up painting my hands with water color and pressing my handprints onto the page. I also smeared some of the paint with my fingers and splattered it with a paintbrush. I also used oil bar to outline various shapes in white. I think those finishing touches really made a difference. Here are some of my progress photos:

fd1

fd2

And last but not least, here is the final piece. 🙂

fd3

Leave a Reply

